Yes, a weekly feature, I do say.

After some deliberation, I’ve decided that I’ll be doing a weekly feature called “The Decade I Missed”. Or, at least that’s the tentative title. Don’t be surprised when this post is edited with one of those slashes followed by the new title unchanged.

The central purpose of “The Decade I Missed” is to take a look back at some well-regarded films from the past ten years that I didn’t catch for one reason or another.

Of course, it wouldn’t be “My Year(s) In Lists” without a nice tidy collection to cap it all off. Ultimately, each installment will bring me ever closer to a major geeky milestone: my Top 50 Films of the Decade. It will be a major undertaking, so don’t hold your breath — I probably won’t finish it until the new decade starts, but expect comprehensive write-ups of all 50 films, along with pretty pictures and the like.

Keep your eyes peeled this week for our first installment of “The Decade I Missed”, featuring Jonathan Glazer’s polarizing 2004 film Birth. 2007’s Palme d’Or winner 4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days.

[NOTE FROM THE EDITOR: Don’t worry, Kidman fans, I watched Birth this week, but 4 Months was fresher in my mind, so I wrote on that. My “The Decade I Missed” installment on Birth is forthcoming.]