Happy New Year, folks! It feels like it’s been too long since I’ve written anything. Work, a need to sleep, and a little lack of mental clarity has gotten in the way, but lucky for you (and for me), I’m coming back strong to start the new year and the new decade. I’ve got the day off from work, so it’s going to be a pretty major movie day. So, what can you expect before the end of the weekend? Check it:

  • Several capsule reviews–these won’t be my usual essays, but I’ll touch base as much as I can on my latest finds and the stuff that has piqued my interest lately. Some will be 2009 films, some will be The Decade I Missed, and some will be part of my Year(s) Revisited–these will be dedicated to films I’ve seen before, but for one reason or another never gave a fair shake. For example, I’m planning on watching Lars von Trier’s Dogville this weekend, a film I hated at the time, but am willing to give a second chance.
  • You might be thinking, “For a blog called ‘My Year(s) In Lists,’ I ain’t seen one damn list.” Well, that changes this weekend, with the first of what will surely be many to come. Get ready for my first decade retrospective with…My Decade in Photography, counting down my list of the top achievements in cinematography this decade.
  • I’m also considering making a special post about a film that, while not great in any respect, hit me for personal reasons. More on that as it develops.

What can I say? Well, I’ll let these guys say it for me:

